Thomas More University Scholarships Awarded at Square1 Pitch Event


CRESTVIEW HILLS, Ky. – Square1 hosted its annual NEXT High School Final Pitch event, providing additional coaching opportunities, prizes and start-up support to participating students.

Three teams of outstanding students have been selected by a panel of judges for top honors in the competition and as a result are awarded scholarships for Thomas More University, including full first place scholarships , $25,000 scholarships for second and third place. place scholarships of $22,000.

The MatterhornONE team, consisting of students Alex Woods, Carson Floyd and Colin Wilmhoff of Beechwood High School, won first place. All receive full scholarships to Thomas More University with their pitch detailing an innovative one-person tent design serving a social purpose.

Pitch competition finalists, the Fast Fashion team, made up of Holy Cross High School students Kennedie Welliver and Annalee Grout, launched a men’s fast-pickup accessory store.

The WaitIN team won third place in the competition for their pitch on solving staffing issues for small restaurants by providing plug-and-play ordering software. The WaitIN team consists of Theo Helton and Steven Weil from Covington Catholic High School.

Thomas More University President Joseph L. Chillo, LP.D., was one of many honorees at the event, receiving the Entrepreneur Commitment Award in recognition of his commitment to providing scholarships for life-changing studies at Thomas More University for the Square1 Next high school student finalists, as well as the establishment of the Dr. Anthony ’65 & Geraldine ’66 Zembrodt Center for Leadership, Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Thomas More, which will be housed in the new University Center which is expected to begin construction this summer on the hills of Crestview Campus. “It was an honor to receive this recognition from Square1, with whom we have partnered to make a difference in the lives of these young innovators,” said President Chillo. “Our new Dr. Anthony ’65 & Geraldine ’66 Zembrodt Center for Leadership, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, along with our new Academic Center, provide the perfect environment for these students to thrive with the support and guidance from the first class faculty we have here at Thomas More University.

Other awards presented that evening included the Board Service Award to winner Vincent Williams of Orchestrate Technologies and former Chairman of the Board; the Impact Award to winner Means Cameron, owner/operator of clothing brand Black-Owned; the Collaborator Award to winner Valerie Hardcastle, executive director of the St. Elizabeth Healthcare Institute of Health Innovation and vice president for health innovation at Northern Kentucky University; the Entrepreneur Support Award to the winner Pat Longo, President of the HCDC; the Entrepreneur Leadership Award to winner Tim McGee, an ex-Bengal and entrepreneur; and the Community Innovator Award to recipients Oakley and Eva Farris, who are local philanthropists and longtime supporters of Thomas More University.

Click here for more information on Kentucky business.


Comments are closed.